Error
  • The template for this display is not available. Please contact a Site administrator.

Review of B&B (bnb) RV, Alaska (AK) Anchorage

I personally give them 0 out of 5 stars

 

(Because I do not know all of the ways the libel laws work I will start by saying that everything below is my opinion.)

A Note Of Caution: The issue with renting an RV in Alaska is pretty simple.  lets say you prepay for your RV 3 months in advance... you pack and fly up to Alaska excited to get in your RV.  You then pull up on the lot to find that the only RV's some company is renting is not up to your standards.  You are now in Alaska, the first day of your trip and you have a problem with your RV. Sure legally you can cancel your reservation and look elsewhere.  What are you going to do?  To call up anyone else would cost a lot more because you are not reserving it.  I believe that some RV companies in Anchorage fully know this and use it to rent you a RV you otherwise wouldn't take.

 

On to the review

Glad I canceled my reservation!

I called this company several months before my trip. I made the mistake of purchasing this product before I did my proper research. We paid for a RV that we were told was a late model unit in good condition.

 
We were planning on going for two weeks so I started to research B&B and found that they had many bad reviews. 
However, I also saw that when they got good reviews it was always in spurts. This I read as a employee of this company giving themselves 5 star reviews... 2-4 of them, all within hours or days of each other.
 
I then checked the BBB and saw they have a F rating. While I'm not big on the BBB I do understand that they are a "somewhat" accurate account of how the company deals with issues... and this company per the BBB does not handle them.
 
So, to quell my fears about the reviews I had read I emailed Pete and asked him what kind of condition the RV was in. AND SPECIFICALLY HOW OLD THEY WERE I was told "they are all late model units"
 
 
 
EMAIL FROM B&B RV REGARDING THE QUALITY OF THE RVS
 
Please visit our website to see examples.
http://bnbrv.com/Vehicle_Info.html
 
It is winter time, all our RV's are covered in snow and we do not open until May 1. Because of maintenance issues, accidents and scheduling we do not promise a particular brand, color or year. Your RV will be late model in nice condition with 25 free items included.
 
 
 
I felt that this answer was not adequate.
 
I'm a very tech savy person so I used google earth (street view) to view what RVs they had on the lot. I PERSONALLY didn't feel they were "late model"
 
So I contacted Pete for a refund. I told him why (in the interest of honesty) I wanted a refund.  the email I got back was very rude and uncalled for... After reading the email (posted below) I am SO glad I decided not to go with this company.
 
 
 
EMAIL FROM B&B RV
We sell out every year. Maybe you should have done your research before you booked. We have thousands of happy customers. The BBB is a joke. It's pay to play. The company you booked with has more complaints than us; they chose to pay the BBB, we don't. Pull up YouTube 20/20 better business bureau expose and you will see that the BBB IS A SCAM; any dispute is resolved in house.
 
Take personal inventory of your company before you start throwing stones at mine.
 
 
 
Upon canceling my reservation I was charged $250 as a cancelation fee which I'm ok with.  After all it was my fault for reserving with this company with out first researching them.
 
I was refunded all of my money (after having to call twice to remind them) except for $27.50 I emailed twice regarding this last amount and finally had to call them to get it.
 
 
So in the end I was very displeased with the way the owner Pete handled what I felt were honest questions that needed to be answered.  I felt as thought the website was misleading and could easy give people the feeling that they were getting a very nice RV when in fact they may get a older model that has problems.
 
Instead I went with Great Alaskan Holidays. Why.
 
  1. They have floor plans of the actual RV you will renting.
  2. They promise that the RV you see online is the RV you will get
  3. Looking at their address with Google street view shows a much more professional business, B&B RV is a trailer on a dirt lot... not a bad thing in it's self but it could provide a look into how the business runs
  4. They answered every single question I had and I didn't feel like I was getting the answer I wanted to hear but the actual answer.
 
GAH may be a bit more expensive but really it's not... plus the piece of mind that I will be getting what I reserved is worth every penny.
 
UPDATE:  Now that our trip is over we are SOOOOOOO glad we decided to not go with B&B.  Our RV from GAH was just perfect!!!!  We loved EVERY SINGLE THING ABOUT IT!!!
 
Our trip took us over 2100 miles all around the state and several time I saw B&B RV's... Below is a picture of the very best one I saw.
 
 
 
 
B&B RV (The Best One I saw) GAH RV (After 12 days of use)
I admit, this is a nice looking RV...  It is also bigger than the one we would have gotten.  I saw one that was the same length as what we would have reserved and it was just horrible!  Old, dirty, dented... just bad This was our home for 14 days.  The unit was practically brand new with maybe 9,000 miles on it.  It smelled of new car and every single thing about the RV worked and worked well!
I hope this review is taken as a honest (non-bashing) review from a potential customer.
 
My advice to anyone who is thinking about renting an RV in Alaska is to check out Great Alaskan Holidays, or at the very least stay far away from Pete and B&B RVs
 
Points to Take Away.
  • The Pictures you see on the website (in my opinion) are NOT the actual RVs...  Some of their pictures actually look like the stock photos of NEW units.
  • Pete Harkovitch is a very rude person who (in my opinion) is very dishonest and verging on being a crook
  • They are not very professional
  • There are many other RV rental houses in town, give ANY of them a chance before this guy.
  • Every single review on their website is glowing... personally I never read testimonials that are on the website of the person selling me the service.  My guess is that they are all fake put up by Pete.
  • if you don't believe me just click on this link (google search for reviews for this company)  Or this link to their BBB Rating  Or check out this link showing B&B RVs were operating without a license for a year and only got a license after the BBB ran a report on how bad they are.
  • HERE is another GREAT review by another person

 

In the interest of honesty I have attached every email we had (my girlfriend actually reserved it.  my email string starts when I started asking questions to Pete)

 

From Andy From B&B RV
 
Dear Andy XXXX :

Your sales receipt is attached


Thank you for your business - we appreciate it very much.

We look forward to having you as our guest. Please e-mail us back and provide us with your approximate date and time of arrival. Upon arrival between the hours of 8-5 please call our shuttle at 907-947-4152 for pick up. For after hours arrival please contact us to arrange.

Please let us know if you would like to rent a GPS for $10 per day.
Hello,
 
Thank you so much for the confirmation email.
 
Can I get pictures of the actual RV we will be taking?  I understand via your website that your RV's are of newer construction but am unable to located the RV we plan to take.  We have never rented an RV before and because this is such an important part of our trip I feel it is vital we "see before we buy".   I don't want to have any surprises.
 
So I'm hoping you can understand my position and can oblige me with just a few photos of the actual RV we are taking and perhaps it's age.  Our reservation number is XXXX. 
 
 
Please visit our website to see examples.
 
It is winter time, all our RV's are covered in snow and we do not open until May 1. Because of maintenance issues, accidents and scheduling we do not promise a particular brand, color or year. Your RV will be late model in nice condition with 25 free items included.
 
Thank you.
 
B&B RV

Wow, Thank you so much for the quick response on a Sunday!

 

I can understand that.  I'm not sure what you mean by "late model"  what is the oldest RV we might get in our size range?
Also,  Are we guaranteed a fully functional RV?
I will be honest with you.  My concerns come from a search of local BBB website.  I saw a F rating which I hope you can understand is worrisome.
 

Thank you,

 

 

 

After this email we spoke on the phone and I asked to cancel my reservation

 

 

 

 

Dear Andy XXXX :

Your credit memo is included in a separate attachment. We have reduced your account balance by the amount shown on the credit memo.

Thank you very much.

when and how will I receive my credit???

 
 
Mr. XXXX,
 
Your refund will be credited to your card. Please be patient as it can take a few days to credit this back to your account.
 
Best Regards
B&B RV

 

Great,

 

Thank you so much!  I will happily wait until next Monday for the refund before reaching out to you again.
 
In the interest of full honesty I want to inform you why we felt it was worth the $250 cancelation fee to cancel this reservation.
 
1. An F Rating on the BBB
2. Several Negative reviews we read about your company on the internet including one very well documented review with pictures.
 
Because of the importance of the RV for our trip I felt that I could not leave to chance, the quality and age of the RV.  
 
We instead went with an RV company that offers pictures and floor plans of the actual RV we are reserving (per their website).  They also have a A Rating with the BBB and many, many positive reviews.
 
I tell you this so you fully understand why we made the decision we did.
 
Again,  Thank you for your quick response to my emails and I will look forward to receiving the CC credit in a few days.
 
 
Andy
 
 
We sell out every year. Maybe you should have done your research before you booked. We have thousands of happy customers. The BBB is a joke. It's pay to play. The company you booked with has more complaints than us; they chose to pay the BBB, we don't. Pull up YouTube 20/20 better business bureau expose and you will see that the BBB IS A SCAM; any dispute is resolved in house.
 
Take personal inventory of your company before you start throwing stones at mine. 
 
Pete Harkovitch
 
PS the photos fromthe Internet were all damage done by that renter; not only did he damage our RV but we filed a lawsuit and are currently in litigation.
Pete 
 
Thank you for your response and acknowledgement of my concerns.
 
I look forward to the refund as we have previously discussed.
 
Good luck to you and B&B RV, I truly wish the best for you!
 
Andy
 
Thank you for the speedy refund on my reservation.

I however have a problem with the math.  I show in my bank account that you refunded me a total of $1309.80.  

The true refund (1587.30 less $250) should have been $1337.30.  This is a difference of $27.50

Please let me know when the remainder of the funds will be refunded.

If I am in error please let me know where my math is incorrect.

Andy
I assume my last email to you never made it since you have been so quick to respond to my emails.  I will paste my email (sent yesterday) to  

 

 

 

After this email I never got another response.  I finally called Pete and had to process the final $27.50 several days after the other refund went through.  I'm not sure why this happened... It seems like VERY simple math to refund the total we paid less $250 US...  but perhaps I don't know how the B&B RV Rental calculator works...